Luxembourg City: a European capital in more ways than one

📷 Raphael Koerich

Luxembourg may be the second smallest member state of the current European Union, but it plays a fairly large and active role in day-to-day affairs and decision-making at the EU level. Along with Brussels and Strasbourg, the city of Luxembourg is one of the three official European capitals.

The capital’s close connection to the EU is not accidental, however. None other than Robert Schuman, often described as the pioneer of a united Europe, was born in Luxembourg in 1886. On 9 May 1950, Schuman proposed the creation of the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC), which would become then the predecessor of all subsequent Community institutions. Along with France, Germany, Belgium, Italy and the Netherlands, Luxembourg is one of the six founding countries of the European Union. Thus, “Europeanness” has been at the very heart of Luxembourg’s identity for many decades.

📷 Raphael Koerich

The Kirchberg plateau, a modern and booming district in the northeast of the city of Luxembourg, has been home to major European institutions since the 1960s. Today, it houses the General Secretariat of the European Parliament, the European Investment Bank, the European Court of Auditors as well as various services of the European Commission, to name but a few.

But the City of Luxembourg is not only a European capital in political and economic terms. With more than 167 different nationalities living in the city, the capital could not be more multicultural and diverse. Indeed, of its 120,000 inhabitants, a staggering 70% are not Luxembourgers. With foreigners making up the majority of its population, the city is a veritable linguistic melting pot. Not only Luxembourgish, French and German are the official languages, but other languages ​​such as English and Portuguese are also widely spoken in the capital.

Come visit Luxembourg City for a truly European experience!

Comments are closed.