744 new community cases of Covid-19 on Tuesday

There are 744 new community cases of Covid-19 in New Zealand on Tuesday, the Department of Health announced.

The cases are in Northland (43), Auckland (535), Waikato (69), Bay of Plenty (8), Lakes (10), Hawke’s Bay (1), MidCentral (6), Taranaki (2), Tairāwhiti ( 7), Wairarapa (1), Capital and Coast (5), Hutt Valley (1), Nelson Marlborough (9), Canterbury (9) and Southern (30).

Forty people are hospitalized with the virus. No one is in an intensive care or high dependency unit.

The figures come as the country moves into phase 2 of the government’s Omicron response at 11:59 p.m. tonight.

The ministry said 21,070 Covid-19 tests had been carried out in the past 24 hours and said the high level of testing was “encouraging”.

However, he said it was important that the right people were tested for the right reasons.

“There is good testing capacity across the country, but unnecessary testing could delay results for those who urgently need it,” the ministry said in a statement.

“People should only get tested if they have cold or flu symptoms, have been to a place of interest, or have been asked to be tested by a health official. .”

A total of 47,573 booster doses were administered on Monday, twice as many as on Sunday, the ministry said. This brings the total to 1,959,875.

“The Department of Health would like to thank everyone who has been vaccinated in New Zealand. You are doing your part to keep all New Zealanders safe.

“The Covid-19 vaccine remains our best defense against the virus. Vaccinated people are less likely to become seriously ill or hospitalized than unvaccinated people.

“The booster shot provides a high level of protection against Omicron, so if it’s been three months since you received your second dose, please get your booster as soon as possible.”

The ministry also announced that the deadline for people in the health and disability sector to have their recalls has been extended to 11:59 p.m. on Thursday, February 24.

The new date also applies to all workers covered by mandatory health dates due to the work they do in New Zealand’s corrections, fire and emergency services, defense forces, the education and the police.

Nineteen cases at the MIQ were also announced by the ministry on Tuesday, including three historical ones.

The ministry said the cases had traveled from Australia (1), Belgium (1), Singapore (1), the United Arab Emirates (1) and the United States (1).

The countries from which 11 of the border cases had traveled were unknown.

On Monday, 981 community cases were announced.

Comments are closed.